The River of Time Series

Posted: February 10, 2012 in Book Reviews
Tags: , , , ,

ImageLast summer, I received a copy of the first book in the River of Time series, Waterfall, from the author.  I read it in about a day and a half.  I was nervous about starting it, since I had been told that it would appeal to fans of a certain vampire romance which shall remain unnamed.  That nervousness evaporated as I read the first few pages and got completely hooked on the main characters.  Lisa Bergren didn’t fill these books with one-dimensional or Mary-Sue-type characters; each main character (and some secondary characters as well) is fully fleshed out, with believable personalities and flaws.  Even the settings are brilliant characters!  Rather than place the heroines and heroes in a generic setting, every place and time is unique and beautifully written.  The characters’ interactions with each other and their settings are very well written. 

Two things really concerned me going in to this series: time travel and historical settings.  Neither concerned me any more by the time I finished the first book.  The time travel is limited and decidedly magical in its origins.  This is not simply a cop-out, however.  The time travel itself is not the focus of the story.  Being a sci-fi nerd, I’ve read a lot of books and seen a lot of movies that involve time travel.  Every writer seems to have his or her own take on the science of time travel and, quite frankly, I was thrilled that Bergren didn’t go in depth on how it worked. 

Bergren took a few artistic licenses with historical accuracy.  She admits that much in the after word of Waterfall.  That doesn’t mean she neglected to research her time period and area, however.  She spent time inItaly where the book takes place and used some wonderful resources for research.  Unlike most fiction books, especially those geared towards teenagers, she even includes a bibliography!  I cannot tell you how incredibly happy that made me. 

The adventure and romance in this series is so intertwined, it’s impossible to separate the two.  The romance is not cheesy or ridiculous and the action is epic and exciting.  I highly recommend this series for any age, but especially for tweens to twenty-somethings.  Don’t worry if you don’t usually like romances; I don’t either.  The River of Time is so much more!  Even hard-core fantasy fans will enjoy this series.

Click the titles to purchase:
Waterfall 
Cascade 

Comments
  1. Lisa Bergren says:

    Yay! So glad I overcame your fears and you enjoyed it. And congrats on your new blog!

  2. missared says:

    Thanks, Lisa! Yes, you overcame my fears and I’m sooooo glad I didn’t let them stop me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

