Loaded Gun

Posted: March 5, 2012 in Short Stories
Tags: , , ,

Here’s the latest flash fiction.  This week’s prompt from Chuck Wendig required me to put my music collection on shuffle. The first song to come on was to become the story title.  We were even encouraged to use the song’s lyrics or tone as the basis of the story.  Considering I have 6 days worth of songs on iTunes and some of them are incredibly bizarre, I was reasonably afraid of what song would pop up.  I have no idea what I would have done if something like Die Zauberflote or Kung Pao Buckaroo Holiday had been at the top of the list.  Thankfully, Loaded Gun by Flatfoot 56 won the day.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Lucas stared down the barrel of the shotgun.  He didn’t know exactly what would happen to him if Markus pulled the trigger from that distance, but he knew one thing for sure.  No Fae power would be able to bring him back.

“Markus, no!” Lenora tried to get his attention.  “Lucas is one of the good guys!”

“No!  He’s one of them!”

“So am I!  You gonna try to kill me, too?”

Markus wavered for a moment.  He clenched his jaw and glared at Lucas.  “I don’t know,” he whispered.

Lenora blanched.  “Markus…”

“It’s just…I can’t take this,” his hands shook.

“Look, I know it’s hard to deal with.  But it’s gonna be okay,” Lenora pleaded.  “Just put the gun down.”

“I can’t.  If I put the gun down, he’ll change and kill me.”

“No.  I won’t,” Lucas held up his hands in surrender.  “I don’t kill people.”

“Yeah, you do.  I saw you back there.  You’ll change and eat me!” Markus’ voice rose with each word.

“Oh please,” Lucas sneered, suddenly fed up with Markus’ fear.  “If we wanted  you dead, you’d be dead.”

“No.  I have the gun.  You make one move and you’ll be nothing but red splotches all over the room.  Your kind bleeds red, right?”

Lenora scowled.  “You couldn’t shoot us both at the same time, moron.  You kill him, what do you think I’ll do to you?”

It was Markus’ turn to pale.  “Why?  What is he to you anyway?”

“He’s like the big brother I never had.  I would do anything to protect him.”  For a split second, Lenora’s eyes went from gray to icy-blue.

“Lenora, no.  You’ve been through enough.  I’m not going to let you kill your ex to avenge me.”  Lucas changed his focus to the man with the shaking gun.  “If you have to kill someone tonight, fine.  I’m sick of this.  If you’re going to kill me then just do it.  Be a man and either put down the gun or pull the trigger.”

Markus’ bottom lip quivered.  “Will you leave?  Will you both leave my town alone?”

“That’s all we want, jerk-face,” Lenora growled.

“Lenora,” Lucas warned.

The barrel of the gun dipped until it pointed harmlessly at the floor.  Lucas moved dashed forward and ripped the gun from Markus’ hands.  He emptied the shells onto the floor before tossing the gun away.  Markus gulped.  “Why?”

“Why aren’t we ripping you into a thousand pieces?” Lenora crossed her arms.  “Good question.”

“Nora,” Lucas put an arm around her shoulders.

“What?  He had a gun on you!”

“And he didn’t pull the trigger.”

Markus sank into the threadbare couch and looked at the other two.  “Why aren’t you killing me?  Are you afraid of getting caught?”

“No.”  Lucas shook his head.  “Human cops would just see a freak animal attack.  They would assume that you, for some reason, brought two big dogs to your ex-girlfriend’s apartment and that they turned on you.  And since they wouldn’t be able to find Nora either, they’d probably assume that you or the giant dogs did something to her, too.”

“And we’d certainly be able to take you, gun or no gun,” Lenora barked.

“But we’re not like that.  We could be vicious.  I know plenty of Fae who would have no problem with us destroying you, even before you threatened us.”

“Why?”

Lucas nodded at Lenora, who suddenly had an interest in the peeling wallpaper.  “You broke her heart.”

“I didn’t mean to, I just…”

“I don’t care!” Lenora exploded.  “I don’t care about your reasons.  It doesn’t matter anymore.  His point was just that many of our kind would be insulted that I had been with a human at all.  You dumping me would just be icing on the cake.”  She turned to Lucas.  “Can we just go now?  I want to find Shane.”

Lucas nodded.  Nora headed to her room to throw a few essentials into a backpack.  Markus tried to leave as soon as her back was to him.  Lucas grabbed his collar and slammed him into the wall next to the door.

“Let go mmmm,” Lucas covered Markus’ mouth.

“Don’t scream.”

Markus nodded.  Lucas’ bright blue eyes were just inches from his own.  Slowly, he lowered his hand.  “I need to know that you’re not going to tell anyone about all this.”

“What the heck would I say?” Markus squeaked.

“Give me your word.”

“I won’t say anything.”

“Swear it,” Lucas demanded.

“I swear, I won’t tell anyone anything about you or her or any of this.”

“If you do…” Lucas let go of Markus’ collar.  “Let’s just say that not all of our kind are as forgiving as I am.”

Comments
  1. I really liked the characters. It seemed very real.
    Good story!!!

Leave a Reply

